DIY Avocado, Olive oil & ACV Hair mask

Over a month ago I decided to do some protective styling. I wore my hair in mini two strand twists for a week and undid the twists and rocked a twist out for another week. By the time I was ready to wash my hair, it was in a terrible condition; dry, dull, shedding like crazy and even matted in some areas.

Hair = hot mess

Hair = hot mess

I needed to give my hair some good old TLC. I brought out the big guns! Avocado, olive oil and ACV.

As delicious as they are, Avocados are very popular when it comes to our skin and hair. Avocados are known to add luster and shine to the hair while preventing hair loss and promoting growth. Olive oil adds moisture and promotes hair growth. Apple cider Vinegar helps to cleanse hair and leaves hair smooth and easier to manage.

But before I could have even thought about applying this mask I need to detangle my hair. I sectioned my hair  into about 8 sections and spritzed with water and applied my oil mix to each section.  Then  I finger detangled.

IMG_20140914_002625

This DIY mask is easy to do. Feel free to adjust the recipe to suit the length of your hair

Ingredients

1 Ripe Avocado

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

IMG_20140914_092456

Cut avocado into two pieces and remove flesh from skin. Add the olive oil and the ACV. Mix (and mash) all the ingredients together using a fork until you have a smooth creamy consistency.  (Feel free to use a blender if you have one)

IMG_20140914_093547

Divide hair into four sections and apply the mask generously to each section of your hair. Cover hair with plastic bag/cap. Let it sit for approximately 20 minutes. Rinse out mask  with cold water. Continue with you regular wash day routine.

Results:

This mask left my hair extremely soft, shiny and manageable. It even brought out my curl definition. It brought my hair back to life!

These pics were taken directly after I rinsed out the mask.

IMG_20140914_110510 IMG_20140914_110454 IMG_20140914_110428 IMG_20140914_110419

Give this hair mask a try guys, and let me know what you think.

3 thoughts on “DIY Avocado, Olive oil & ACV Hair mask

Leave a comment